The Australian Medical Association Limited and state AMA entities comply with the Privacy Act 1988. Please refer to the AMA Privacy Policy to understand our commitment to you and information on how we store and protect your data.



24 Jul 2020


Two candidates are vying to be the next Federal AMA President after nominations closed last Friday.

The election will take place during a specially convened online AMA National Conference on Saturday 1 August 2020. The traditional Conference, on the last weekend in May, was cancelled due to COVID-19, and the term of the current President, Dr Tony Bartone, was extended by two months to allow new election arrangements to be put in place.

The candidates are current Federal Vice President and former AMA Queensland President, Dr Chris Zappala, who is a Brisbane thoracic physician and respiratory specialist; and former AMA WA President and current AMA Federal Councillor, Dr Omar Khorshid, an orthopaedic surgeon in Perth.

There will also be an election for the position of Vice President. The candidates are Melbourne GP and AMA Victoria Councillor, Dr Ines Rio; and current AMA SA President and AMA Federal Councillor, Dr Chris Moy, who is a GP in Adelaide.

Final nominations are as follows:


Dr Chris Zappala (Qld)

Dr Omar Khorshid (WA)

Vice President:

Dr Ines Rio (Vic)

Dr Chris Moy (SA)

The candidate statements are at

20 July 2020

CONTACT:        Maria Hawthorne               02 6270 5478 / 0427 209 753


Published: 24 Jul 2020