The Australian Medical Association Limited and state AMA entities comply with the Privacy Act 1988. Please refer to the AMA Privacy Policy to understand our commitment to you and information on how we store and protect your data.



27 May 2013


AMA President, Dr Steve Hambleton, a Brisbane GP, was yesterday elected unopposed at the AMA National Conference to serve a third term as President.

AMA Vice President, Professor Geoffrey Dobb, the Director of Critical Care at Royal Perth Hospital, was also elected unopposed to serve a third term in his role.

Canberra ophthalmologist, Dr Iain Dunlop, was elected Chairman of Council, and Dr Elizabeth Feeney, an anaesthetist from NSW, was elected Treasurer.  

AMA NSW President, Dr Brian Owler, and AMA Victoria President, Dr Steve Parnis, were elected to fill the remaining AMA Executive positions.

Dr Hambleton paid tribute to the outstanding contributions over many years from outgoing Treasurer, Dr Peter Ford, and outgoing Chairman of Council, Dr Roderick McRae.

Dr Peter Beaumont (NT), Dr Richard Choong (WA), Dr John Gullotta (NSW), and Dr Tony Bartone (Vic) were elected to represent Federal Council on the AMA Council of General Practice (AMACGP).

27 May 2013

CONTACT:         John Flannery                       02 6270 5477 / 0419 494 761

                            Kirsty Waterford                  02 6270 5464 / 0427 209 753

Follow the AMA Media on Twitter:
Follow the AMA President on Twitter:

Published: 27 May 2013