The Australian Medical Association Limited and state AMA entities comply with the Privacy Act 1988. Please refer to the AMA Privacy Policy to understand our commitment to you and information on how we store and protect your data.



19 Aug 2015

The AMA is today hosting more than 60 leaders from across all medical specialties in Canberra to discuss the medical profession’s participation in the Governments’ Medicare Benefits Schedule (MBS) reviews, and the recent behaviour of Medibank Private in negotiations with hospitals.

Welcoming delegates to the meeting, AMA President, Professor Brian Owler, said it was important that the medical profession was informed and united in its approach to the MBS reviews.

President Owler will be available for comment on the MBS Reviews and Medibank Private later today, with a possible doorstop at Parliament House at approximately 1.30pm in the Senate Courtyard (to be confirmed).

Attendees at today’s meeting include:

Australasian Association of Nuclear Medicine Specialists

Ms Janine Sargeant

Australasian College for Emergency Medicine

Dr Anthony Cross

Australasian College of Dermatologists

Dr Andrew Miller

Australasian Integrative Medicine Association

Dr Penny Caldicott

Australasian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologists

Prof Darren Roberts

Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy

Dr Melanie Wong


Prof Dianne Campbell

Australia and New Zealand Society of Palliative Medicine

Dr Suharsha Kanathigoda

Australian & New Zealand Head and Neck Cancer Society

Dr Kerwin Shannon

Australian & New Zealand Society of Blood Transfusion

Dr James Daly


Dr Ellen Maxwell

Australian and New Zealand Association of Neurologists

A/Prof Christian Lueck

Australian and New Zealand Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons

Dr Dimitrios Nikolarakos

Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists

Dr Richard Waldron

Australian and New Zealand College of Perfusionists

Ms Jane Ottens

Australian and New Zealand Society for Vascular Surgery

Dr Roxanne Wu

Australian Association of Consultant Physicians

Dr Richard Whiting

Australian Association of Surgeons

Mr Peter Hughes

Australian Diabetes Society

Prof Sophia Zoungas

Australian Hand Surgery Society

Mr Anthony Berger

Australian Knee Society

Mr Stephen Milgate

Australian Medical Acupuncture College

Dr Bill Meyers


Dr Chin Chan


Dr Ian Relf

Australian Medical Association ACT

Dr Elizabeth Gallagher

Australian Medical Association WA

Dr Michael Gannon

Australian Orthopaedic Association

Dr John Tuffley


Mr Michael Johnson

Australian Paediatric Society

Dr Allen Kerrigan

Australian Rheumatology Association

Dr Mona Marabani


Mr Chris Drummer

Australian Society for Medical Research

Dr Phoebe Phillips

Australian Society of Anaesthetists

Dr Guy Christie-Taylor


Dr Mark Sinclair


Dr Jim Bradley


Mr Chesney O’Donnell

Australian Society of Ophthalmologists

Mr Kerry Gallagher

Australian Society of Otolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery

Mr Neil Vallance


Mr Patrick Guiney

Australian Society of Plastic Surgeons

Ms Amanda Parker


Dr Pouria Moradi

Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand

Dr Luke Galligan

Clinical Oncology Society of Australia

A/Prof Desmond Yip

Colorectal Surgical Society of Australia and New Zealand

Dr James Moore

Committee of the Presidents of Medical Colleges

Ms Angela McGarry

Gastroenterological Society of Australia

Dr Katherine Ellard


Prof Ian Norton

General Surgeons Australia

Dr Michael Donovan

IVF Directors Group of Australia and New Zealand

Mr Rick Forbes

National Association of Practising Psychiatrists

Dr Shirley Prager


Dr Gil Anaf

National Association of Specialist Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

Dr Mike Aitken

Private Cancer Physicians of Australia

A/Prof Desmond Yip

Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators

Dr Tony Sara

Royal Australasian College of Physicians

A/Prof Grant Phelps


Ms Helen Craig

Royal Australasian College of Surgeons

Dr David Watters


Ms Amy Kimber

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

Prof Michael Permezel

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists

Dr Bradley Horsburgh

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists

A/Prof Jeffrey Looi

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists

A/Prof Chris Milross

Royal Australian College of General Practitioners

A/Prof Frank Jones

Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia

A/Prof Peter Stewart


Dr Debra Graves

Rural Doctors Association of Australia

Ms Jenny Johnson

Spine Society of Australia

Dr Michael A Johnson

Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand

Prof Bruce Thompson


19 August 2015

CONTACT:        John Flannery                     02 6270 5477 / 0419 494 761

                            Odette Visser                      02 6270 5412 / 0427 209 753 

Published: 19 Aug 2015