AMA members recognised for community service

26 Jan 2021

Australia Day Honours 2021 

More than 30 members of the Australian Medical Association have been recognised for their service to medicine and the community in today’s Australia Day Honours list. 

Australia Day honours

AMA Life Member, Dr Ken Fitch, was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AO) for his work with Australia’s Olympic athletes, and for his role as a medical educator. 

Professor Peter Leedman, Professor Helen O’Connell, and Professor Roger Reddel were also admitted as Members to the Order. 

“All of these doctors have distinguished themselves and served the medical profession and the Australian community,” AMA President Dr Omar Khorshid said today. 

“The AMA is proud of all doctors who have been recognised in this Honours list. Medicine is a vocation as well as a profession, and these doctors represent the best of our profession.” 

AMA Members include: 

Dr Ken Fitch 
Professor Peter Leedman 
Professor Helen O’Connell 

Professor Roger Reddel 


Associate Professor Anne Brooks 
Associate Professor Douglas Brown 
Dr Paul Craft 
Dr John Crompton 
Dr James Cummins 
Professor Jan Dickinson 
Associate Professor Gregory Goodman 
Professor Nicholas Keks 
Dr Tom Playfair 
Dr David Schuster
Dr Roy Scragg 
Professor Jonathan Serpell 
Dr Richard Stawell 
Dr Jeffrey Tan 
Dr Kevin Vandeleur 

AM (Honorary) 
Dr Alison Brand 

Dr Ruth Arnold 
Dr James Bowie 
Dr Carmel Crock 
Dr Susan English-Donkers 
Dr David Hamilton 
Dr Henry Lew 
Dr Richard Loh 
Dr Anandhan Naidoo 
Dr David Nelson 
Dr Susan Rowley 
Dr Chris Schull and Mrs Judith Schull 
Dr David Scott 
Associate Professor David Webb 
Dr John Willoughby 


Media Contacts


 02 6270 5478
 0427 209 753

Follow the AMA

‌ @AustralianMedicalAssociation