The Australian Medical Association Limited and state AMA entities comply with the Privacy Act 1988. Please refer to the AMA Privacy Policy to understand our commitment to you and information on how we store and protect your data.



10 Aug 2015


Launch of ‘Avoid the crash, Avoid the Trauma’ campaign

11.00am, Private Dining Room 5, 2ND Floor, Parliament House, Canberra,

Wednesday 12 August 2015


The AMA and the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) will this Wednesday call on Federal politicians to join the push to make new technology – starting with Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) – standard features in all new cars sold in Australia.

AEB systems use camera and sensor technology to detect the speed and distance of objects in a vehicle’s path, and automatically brake if the driver does not respond.

AMA President, Professor Brian Owler – the face of the NSW Government’s ‘Don’t Rush’ road safety campaign – said that this new technology saves lives.

“If you avoid the crash, you avoid the trauma,” Professor Owler said.

New cars in Europe, Japan, and the United States have AEB fitted as standard. In Australia, it is a costly option or not offered at all.

Professor Owler and ANCAP CEO, Nicholas Clarke, will be joined at the launch by MPs and Senators from across the political spectrum.

The Prime Minister will be represented by the Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development, the Hon Jamie Briggs MP.

The Opposition Leader will be represented by the Shadow Minister for Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Industry, Senator the Hon Kim Carr.

There will be a short video demonstrating how AEB works and how it has been effective in the United Kingdom, showing the way for decision makers to make this life-saving technology a standard feature in all new Australian cars.

Launch of ‘Avoid the crash, Avoid the trauma’ and promotion of AEB technology

Time:               11.00am

Date:               Wednesday 12 August 2015

Venue:             Private Dining Room 5

                        2nd Floor, Parliament House, Canberra (off Mural Hall)

10 August 2015

Media contacts:

AMA                   Odette Visser                      02 6270 5412 / 0427 209 753

ANCAP              Mrs Rhianne Robson          02 6232 0206 / 0408 296 550

Published: 10 Aug 2015