The Australian Medical Association Limited and state AMA entities comply with the Privacy Act 1988. Please refer to the AMA Privacy Policy to understand our commitment to you and information on how we store and protect your data.



19 Feb 2018


The AMA Public Health Awards provide well-deserved recognition of the extraordinary contribution of doctors and associated health groups make to health care and public health.

  Professor Judith Goh

The 2018 AMA Excellence in Healthcare Award was presented to Professor Elizabeth Elliott AM FAHMS primarily for her contribution as a pioneer in raising awareness in the field of foetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD) and her contribution to the development of Australia's response to FASD, through addressing aspects of health policy, health delivery, education and health awareness of the condition.

The 2018 AMA Woman in Medicine Award was awarded to Professor Judith Goh AO primarily for her dedication to women's health through clinical practice, teaching, curriculum, research and advocacy work nationally and internationally.

In 2019, nominations are sought for awards in the following categories:

  • AMA Excellence in Healthcare Award
  • Woman in Medicine Award

A full description of the criteria for nominations, and information on how to nominate is available here.

Please read the criteria for each award thoroughly, and ensure that your nomination clearly states which category you are putting the nominee forward for.

Nominations, including all required documentation, should be submitted electronically to The closing date for receipt of nominations for each award is COB Thursday 9 May 2019.



Published: 19 Feb 2018