

Modified Monash Model

From 1 July 2019, the Modified Monash Model (MMM) will be updated using the latest available Census (2016) data. A map showing MMM 2019 can be viewed at doctorconnect.gov.au

The MMM is a geographical classification that categorises different areas in Australia into seven remoteness categories. It was developed to better target health workforce programs to attract health professionals to more remote and smaller communities. The MMM classifies metropolitan, regional, rural and remote areas according to geographical remoteness, as defined by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS), and town size.

The MMM is used to determine eligibility for a range of health workforce programs, such as Rural Bulk Billing Incentives, Workforce Incentive Program and health workforce Distribution Priority Areas (DPA).

Health programs will begin transitioning to the new MMM from 1 January 2020.

The current Modified Monash Model (MMM 2015) is derived from 2011 ABS Census data. The updated MMM (2019) will be updated using 2016 ABS Census data and geography information.

Modified Monash Category	Description (including the Australian Standard Geographical Classification – Remoteness Area (2016)
MM 1	Metropolitan areas: Major cities accounting for 70% of Australia's population All areas categorised ASGS-RA1
MM 2	Regional centres: Inner (ASGS-RA 2) and Outer Regional (ASGS-RA 3) areas that are in, or within a 20km drive of a town with over 50,000 residents
MM 3	Large rural towns: Inner (ASGS-RA 2) and Outer Regional (ASGS-RA 3) areas that are not MM 2 and are in, or within a 15km drive of a town between 15,000 to 50,000 residents
MM 4	Medium rural towns: Inner (ASGS-RA 2) and Outer Regional (ASGS-RA 3) areas that are not MM 2 or MM 3, and are in, or within a 10km drive of a town with between 5,000 to 10,000 residents
MM 5	Small rural towns: All remaining Inner (ASGS-RA 2) and Outer Regional (ASGS-RA 3) areas. Islands that have an MM 5 classification with a population of less than 1,000 without bridges to the mainland will now be classified as MM 6
MM 6	Remote communities: Remote mainland areas (ASGS-RA 4) AND remote islands less than 5kms offshore. Islands that have an MM 5 classification with a population of less than 1,000 without bridges to the mainland will now be classified as MM 6
MM 7	Very remote communities: Very remote areas (ASGS-RA 5) and all other remote island areas more than 5kms offshore.

The Government established the Distribution Working Group (DWG) to review the use of the District of Workforce Shortage (DWS) and the MMM geographical classification systems. The DWG endorsed this methodology used to address the maldistribution of medical services across Australia and better target financial incentives to attract and retain medical staff in rural and remote areas.		
For more information contact <u>rural.distribution@health.gov.au</u>		

June 2019