

Australian Medical Association Limited ABN 37 008 426 793

42 Macquarie Street, Barton ACT 2600: PO Box 6090, Kingston ACT 2604 Telephone: (02) 6270 5400 Facsimile (02) 6270 5499

Website: http://www.ama.com.au/



AMA MEMBERS RECOGNISED IN AUSTRALIA DAY HONOURS

AMA members from all walks of medicine have been recognised into today's Australia Day Honours list.

More than 40 members, including the chair of the AMA Federal Council, are among those inducted into the Order of Australia.

The doctor who literally wrote the book for general practice – Emeritus Professor John Murtagh – has been made an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia, for his services to medicine and medical education.

John Murtagh's General Practice, now in its seventh edition, has been the pre-eminent reference textbook for general practitioners, medical students, and registrars since it was first published in 1994, and has been translated into 13 languages.

Emeritus Professor Murtagh was last year recognised with the AMA Gold Medal for his outstanding service to the practice of medicine.

Emeritus Professor Richard Larkins, of Melbourne, received the highest honour and was made a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for his service to medicine, medical research and education, to public health care, and to the community.

Emeritus Professor Larkins is the Chancellor of La Trobe University, and is a former President of the National Stroke Foundation and former chair of the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre.

Chair of the AMA Federal Council and distinguished pathologist, Associate Professor Beverley Rowbotham, was made an Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AO) for her service to medicine, and to professional bodies including the AMA.

AMA Federal Councillor, Dr Andrew Miller, from the ACT, was made a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM) for his service to medicine as a dermatologist, and to professional organisations.

"AMA members have a long and proud history of public service across all fields of medicine," AMA President, Dr Tony Bartone, said.

"On behalf of the AMA, I congratulate all members recognised in today's awards, and thank all the hard-working and dedicated members of the medical profession who are working to keep us all healthy and safe over this long weekend."

Other AMA members to be recognised include:

- Professor David Ball AO
- Professor Sharon Lewin AO
- Dr Bronte Ayres AM
- Dr Penelope Briscoe AM
- Dr Andrew Brooks AM
- Dr David Burke AM
- Dr Anne Chang AM
- Dr Michael Davies AM
- Professor Paul Haber AM

- Group Captain Gregory Hampson AM
- Professor Jennifer Hoy AM
- Dr William Johnson AM
- Professor Matthew Kiernan AM
- Dr Donald McTaggart AM
- Mr Randall Sach AM
- Dr Bryan Walpole AM
- Dr Roger Wilkinson AM
- Captain Ian Young AM
- Dr Ian Airey OAM
- Dr Adrian Allen OAM
- Dr Michael Bourke OAM
- Dr Alexander Campbell OAM
- Dr Eleanor Chew OAM
- Dr Steven Coverdale OAM
- Dr Peter Davidson OAM
- Dr Christopher Dodds OAM
- Dr Francis Harvey OAM
- Dr Bernard Jenner OAM
- Dr Christopher Lowry OAM
- Dr Peter Marendy OAM
- Dr Robert Marr OAM
- Dr Jennifer McArthur (Chambers) OAM
- Dr Stanley Menzies OAM
- Dr Dinesh Palipana OAM
- Dr Sujon Purkayastha (OAM)
- Dr Jaswinder Samra (OAM)
- Dr Gregory Thompson (OAM)
- Dr Richard Tooth (OAM)
- Dr Robert Wight (OAM)

26 January 2019

CONTACT: Maria Hawthorne 02 6270 5478 / 0427 209 753

Follow the AMA Media on Twitter: http://twitter.com/ama_media
Follow the AMA President on Twitter: https://twitter.com/amaausmed
Follow Australian Medicine on Twitter: https://twitter.com/amaausmed

Like the AMA on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AustralianMedicalAssociation