The Australian Medical Association Limited and state AMA entities comply with the Privacy Act 1988. Please refer to the AMA Privacy Policy to understand our commitment to you and information on how we store and protect your data.




Our Structure

The AMA has a federal structure with AMAs in each state and territory that focus primarily on state matters, and a Canberra-based federal body which deals with national issues. In addition to elected office-bearers, both the federal and state bodies have offices staffed by paid employees who assist the office-bearers in the day-to-day affairs of the Association.

An incorporated body, the AMA(SA) is governed by its State Council (usually around 30 members). The State Council is comprised of elected office bearers and craft group representatives. Members of the AMA federal Council who reside in South Australia are ex officio members of the AMA(SA) Council - the AMA(SA) has traditionally had a strong representation on the AMA Federal Council. The AMA(SA) Council meets 9 times a year. For more information on the State Council, click here.

There is also an AMA(SA) Board, a smaller group which oversees the running of the AMA(SA), freeing up the AMA(SA) Council to focus its attention on matters of policy.

There are also a number of Standing Committees of Council, which include both AMA(SA) Councillors and other members. These include:

Other committees and working groups are formed from time to time as the need arises. In addition to the Council standing committees mentioned above, there is also a Medico-Legal Advisory Committee which is formed of members of the AMA(SA) and Law Society of SA, and a WorkCover Reference Group. There are also AMA(SA) representatives on a number of external groups and committees.