AMA congratulates doctors on the Australia Day 2012 Honours List


AMA President, Dr Steve Hambleton, today paid tribute to the many doctors and other health professionals who were honoured on Australia Day for their passion for their profession and their dedication to their patients and their communities.

Dr Hambleton said that the wonderful thing about the Honours is that they acknowledge achievement at the international, national and local level and they recognise excellence across all avenues of human endeavour.

“Doctors from many diverse backgrounds have been recognised and honoured again this year,” Dr Hambleton said.

“There are pioneering surgeons and researchers, public health advocates, researchers, mental health and chronic disease experts, disability advocates, and GPs and family doctors who have devoted their lives to serving their local communities.

“The AMA congratulates all the doctors and other health advocates whose work has been acknowledged on this special day.

“We are, of course, especially proud of AMA members who have been honoured today.

“Dr Rod Pearce, an Adelaide GP, was appointed a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

“Dr Pearce is a former President of the AMA in South Australia (1998-2000), and a former AMA Federal Councillor who for many years served as Chair of the AMA Council of General Practice.

“Rod is a true champion for general practice and the provision of quality primary care in all Australian communities.

“Another former AMA Federal Councillor, Associate Professor Peter Thursby, who is also a former President of the NSW AMA (1997-99), was awarded the Medal (OAM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

“Dr Ernest Cramond, known as Dr Humphrey Cramond, is a former AMA Queensland President (1984-1985), Dr Jillian Benson was the recipient of the AMA(SA) Award of 2009, and Dr David Evans was an AMA(SA) Councillor (2007-2009).

“The AMA congratulates all the recipients and thanks them for being shining lights in the medical profession,” Dr Hambleton said.

A full list of AMA members who featured in the Honours List is attached.

Australia Day 2012 Honours List – AMA members

South Australia

Dr Jillian Benson – AM – Adelaide

Dr Rodney Pearce – AM – Beulah Park (Adelaide)

Dr David Evans – OAM – Glen Osmond (Adelaide)

Australian Capital Territory

Dr John Buckingham – deceased – AM – Canberra

New South Wales

Dr Grahame Deane – AM – Gunnedah

Dr Appupillay Balasubramaniam – OAM – Homebush (Sydney)

Dr Kerry Moroney – OAM – Narrabri

Dr Stuart Porges – OAM – Orange

Dr Geoffrey Rickarby – OAM – Wickham (Newcastle)

Dr John Roarty – OAM – Point Piper (Sydney)

Associate Professor Peter Thursby – OAM – (North Rocks)  

Dr Leslie Woollard – OAM – Moree


Professor Ian Meredith – AM – Clayton (Melbourne)

Dr Ian Robertson – OAM – Toorak (Melbourne)

Dr Rodney Westhorpe – OAM – Kew (Melbourne)

Dr Andrew Bacon – ASM* – Berwick (Melbourne) – *Ambulance Service Medal


Dr Robert Black – OAM – Chelmer (Brisbane)

Dr Ernest Cramond – OAM – Clayfield (Brisbane)

Dr David Sowden – PSM – Yandina

Western Australia

Dr Bengt Korman – OAM – Yokine (Perth)


26 January 2012


CONTACT:        John Flannery                     02 6270 5477 / 0419 494 761

                      Kirsty Waterford                   02 6270 5464 / 0427 209 753

Follow the AMA Media on Twitter:

Follow the AMA President on Twitter:


Submitted by Marian Nolan (not verified) on

good people selected